Days 42, 43 and 44 (Liethuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland)

Liethuania felt already almost like home. We had our morning rituals: breakfast, packing, putting on riding gear, little maintenance, shopping for water and snacks and left for the dirt roads. After some interesting tracks we were again on Latvian dirt-avenues you could do 100 km/h. Latvia was done in a heartbeat almost without tarmac. We saw lots of tractors and almost always we were on bigger roads there were roadworks. The whole Latvia seemed to be at work, there were no old men with their beers on the roadside bars, like in the south of Poland everywhere.

IMG_20150818_182439228_HDRSince the nights had turned cold we took a hotel at Sigulda on Estonian side. In the morning we decided to do the sightseeing next time and just drive to the ferry and get back home. The sun was shining for us on the last day when we were driving trough Estonia and we did catch the evening ferry to Helsinki. From there I called my brother who was kind enough to give me a place to stay until my father’s funeral in two days. I had rented my place out for the summer, since I was not expecting to come back home so early.

It was good to come home. Since we had had only two days of from driving and maintenance I had a feeling that I had done enough biking for a one trip even we missed the Balkans. I think I did the maximum I can do and enjoy without longer breaks. We did driving 35 days, the repairing of KTM took altogether 6 days and two days we just had of from driving and maintenance: one in Varna, other in Eger. Must say that I was a bit disappointed that KTM let me down so many times, but on the other hand, it was on far better shape when we came back than it was when we left. But still, it was frustrating to find the places and parts and do the waiting.

20150816_140735The rest of the week was bit confusing. I was saying goodbye to my father and my childhood home which must be put on the market. I was staying with my brothers lovely family or at other friends. I am very tolerant for social life but must say that when on the next Monday night my friends gave me a room of my own from their inn near Salo I spent the whole day there alone just enjoying the solitude and organizing my thoughts, feelings and memories. And admiring my pretty convincing throttle-hand-blisters…

And I caught myself also planning for the next trip at least by analyzing the learnings. I must be a little crazy, but in this world, it might make things a little easier…

Leave a comment